A seven Member Committee has been inaugurated by the Minister for the Interior to oversee the disbursement of all monies raised for the victims of the June 3, 2015 twin disaster.

The special Committee known as the Disbursement Committee on June 3rd 2015 Twin Disaster is also expected to disburse the $200,000 support fund from the Benin Government.

Additionally, the Committee is to collaborate will all the groups, organisations and NGOs that raised funds in support of the victims to know how much has been raised, and if it is enough to be shared or more would have to be raised in support of the victims.

Mr. Ambrose Dery, Minister for the Interior, disclosed that, aside the food and non-food relief items that government through the National Disaster Management Organisation (NADMO) provided, and the provision of needed medical care to the victims, Government of Ghana supported ninety – six out of the one hundred and ten bereaved families with an amount of ten thousand cedis (GHC10, 000.00) each towards the burial and funeral rites.

According to the Minister, the fourteen families which were not compensated were due to uncertainties surrounding their next of kin.

He bemoaned the fact that, although some of the victims were still visiting medical facilities for treatment at their own expense which the National Disaster Management Organisation could not assist anymore due to financial constraints and appealed for support.

“Unfortunately, due to financial constraints, National Disaster Management Organisation’s interventions ended with the emergency response and relief. As we speak, some of the injured are still visiting the medical facilities and treating their injuries at their own expense which has made life very difficult for them”. he said.

The Minister charged the Committee to discharge its duties with diligence so as to bring relief to the victims of the 3rd June twin disasters.

Mr. Seji Saji, Deputy Director-General,NADMO and Chairperson for the Committee, on behalf of the Committee, assured the Minister of their commitment to work assiduously  to meet the set target.

He appealed to the general public to assist the Committee with any information relating to the disaster.

The other members of the Committee are Mr. Gavivina Y. Tamakloe( Director, Reconstruction and Migration, NADMO), Lt. Col. Oduro (Office of the Chief of Staff), and Mr. Henry Nii Lante Plange (Metro, NADMO).

The rest are Mr. Julius Azumah (Central Administration, AMA), Mr. Ellis Commey (Finance Department, AMA) and Mr. E. Andani Mahamudu (Director of Relelief, NADMO HQ).


On 3 June 2015, a combined effort of flooding and fire explosion from a Goil filling station resulted in the loss of many lives and properties.

The flooding was as a result of torrential rainfall which started in the late hours of Tuesday, June 2, and continued into 3rd June, 2019.

The impact of the disaster on both the victims and their dependents were so grave that the some organisations, NGOs and individuals embarked on fund raising to support the victims.