A 9- member Audit Committee for the Ministry of the Interior has been inaugurated in accordance with section 86 of the Public Financial Management Act, 2016 (Act 921) to advise the Ministry on sound, transparent and reliable financial management practices in Accra on Tuesday, August 29,2017.

The Committee would also pursue the implementation of recommendations contained in both the internal and external audit reports as well as Parliament’s decision on the Auditor General’s report.

Addressing the Committee after the swearing, Mr. Ambrose Dery, Minister for the Interior intimated that, the inauguration was in line with Government’s commitment to protect the public purse as well as promote accountability in all Public Institutions.

According to him, the Audit Committee is a high level corporate Governance Committee              with majority of its members coming from institutions outside of the ministry.

The Minister was optimistic the committee would deliver on its mandate and thus charged it to engaging persons with specializes expertise as may be required when the need arises to ensure proper and efficient discharge of its functions.

The Chairman for the Committee, Mr. Abdul Karim Hatsu of the Internal Audit Agency, assured the Minister of their readiness to bring their experience to the bare in the discharge of their duties. He, on behalf of the other members of the Committee, expressed their appreciation the President of the Republic of Ghana.

The Committee consist of Mr. Nathan Yankey, Internal Audit Agency, member, Mr. Frank Sinatra Nkrumah, Institute if Chartered Accountant Ghana, member, Mr. Walter Kwao Anati and Ms. Rose Tsorhey, both from Ministry of the Interior, member.

The rest who are co-opted members are, Mrs. Adelaide Anno-Kumi, Chief Director, Ministry of the Interior, Mr. E. Anan-Kakabaah, Director, Accounts, Ministry of the Interior, Mr. Daniel Tetteh Nartey, Chief Internal Auditor, Ministry of the Interior and Miss. Gifty Quaye, Ministry of the Interior.