The Deputy Minister for the Interior, Hon. Henry Quartey, has sworn in a thirteen member Greater Accra Peace Council with a charge to establish and strengthen collaboration with security agencies, governance institutions, traditional authorities, civil society organisations, especially faith-based organisations to facilitate the attainment of sustainable peace in the country.

The Minister alluded that Regional Peace Councils are essential in conflict resolution since most conflicts are local in nature, thus requiring local early warning mechanisms as well as local human and material resources to promptly respond to the conflicts.

According to the Minister, The task of peacebuilding is a long and demanding one, requiring integrity, fairness, impartially and confidentiality.

He however expressed confidence in the ability of the Council members to deliver.

“I have no doubt that as eminent persons nominated by your respective revered institutions, you will discharge your mandate effectively and efficiently without fear or favour” he said.

He pledged the Ministry’s support to the work of the Council and urged them to work hard.

“Please count on me and the Ministry of the Interior as your dependable partner. We will ensure that we play our role to the best of our abilities to facilitate efficient delivery of your mandate” he stated.

This Council is the first for the Greater Accra Region since the passage of the National Peace Council (NPC) Act 2011 (818).

The Members of the Council are Rev. Fr. John Patrick Tindana, Catholic Bishop’s Conference; Rt. Rev. Samuel Kofi Sabutey, Christian Council; Rev. Joseph K.K. Baisie, Ghana Pentecostal Council; Rev. Dr. Patrick Anyomi, National Council for Christians and Charismatic Churches; Alhaji Abdul Majeed Saeed, Ahamadiyya Mission and Sheikh Abass Salah Haroun, Al-Sunnah Muslims.

The rest are Sheikh Khuzaima Mohammed Osman, Tijaniya Muslims Group; Mrs. Theodora Williams Anti, Foundation for Security Development in Africa; Dr. Afua Boatemaa Yakohene, Legon Centre for International Affairs and Diplomacy.

Other members of the Council are Numo Blafo Akotia Omaetu III, Practitioners of African Traditional Religion; Nene Atsure Benta III, Regional House of Chiefs and DCOP Daniel Laryea Odai and DSP Mary Attoh Annang, both representing the Regional Coordination Council.

Source: Public Relations Unit │ Ministry of the Interior.