The Minister for the Interior, Mr. Ambrose Dery, has inaugurated a 10-member Governing Board of the National Identification Authority (NIA) at the Ministry of the Interior Conference Room to serve for the next four years.

The Minister charged members of the new NIA Governing Board to ensure the harmonisation of the National Identification System (NIS) with other state and user agencies to facilitate accurate verification of the identities of all persons.

He said a reliable, accurate and credible NIS remained the pivot of Government’s drive to digitize the Ghanaian economy. He added that NIA should extend its operations to all the regions and districts of the country to bring their services to the doorsteps of all Ghanaians.

“The entire nation will therefore depend on you, the ten (10) eminent members of the Board to steer the affairs of NIA to realize the digitization agenda”, he said.

Mr. Dery stated that a reliable data on identities of all persons would positively impact security operations and inure to the achievement of the goal of a safe Ghana.

The Board includes Mr. Abel Edusei as the Board Chairman, Professor Anthony Panin and Professor Olivia Anku-Tsede, both Presidential Nominees.

Other members are Professor Kenneth Agyemang Attafuah, the Executive Secretary of the National Identification Authority (NIA), Dr. John Ofori-Tenkorang of the Social Security and National Insurance Trust (SSNIT), Professor Samuel Kobina Anim, from the Ghana Statistical Service (GSS), Mr. Amisshadai Owusu-Amoah, from the Ghana Revenue Authority (GRA), and Mr Kwame Asuah-Takyi, from the Ghana Immigration Service (GIS), Dr. Lydia Dsand Selby, from the National Health Insurance Authority (NHIA) and Mr. Seth Kissi, from the Births and Deaths Registry.