An 11-member Governing Board of the Ghana Refugee Board (GRB), has been sworn in by the Minister for the Interior at the Conference Room of the Ministry of the Interior in Accra.

The members of the Governing Board are Prof. Kenneth Agyemang Attafuah, Chairman, Mr. Tetteh Padi, Mrs. Patricia Danso-Abeam, Mr. Senalor Yawlui, Mr. Divine Ayidzoe, Mr. Samuel Basintale Amadu, Mr. Anthony Ayensu-Asare, Madam Georgina Mensah, ACP Phyllis Ama Tebuah Osei, Mrs. Doreen Annan and Mr. Kofi Osei.

Addressing the Board, the sector Minister, said the Ghana Refugee Law promulgated in 1992 undoubtedly requires revision. He explained that a proposed bill drafted by a previous Board has been submitted to the Ministry of the Interior. He, therefore, urged the Board to complete the process to align the mandate of the organisation with the Refugee Commissions in the sub-region and beyond.

 He disclosed that United Nations High Commission for Refugees is winding down its operations due to the reducing refugee numbers and that the Government would continue to live up to its responsibility of addressing the needs of the GRB.

The Minister congratulated members of the Board on their appointment to serve on the Governing Board of the Ghana Refugee Board and called for their support to retool the GRB. “I do not doubt that you will bring your rich experience to bear to ensure that the work of the GRB is carried out well for the benefit of all”, he said.