A ten (10) Member Committee has been inaugurated to develop a Comprehensive Framework for Refocusing National Earthquake Preparedness and Response within the country.

The Committee is expected to identify and outline key measures that must be undertaken by relevant Agencies to empower  communities to be well prepared and resilient for reduction of seismic risk; outline other response measures required by stakeholders/agencies in the event of an earthquake, to include the recovery phase; and evaluate the capacities of relevant bodies mandated with national response to identify resource gaps and recommend measures to augment their capabilities towards effective response

Additionally the Committee is to determine the kind of international support that may be required. 

Inaugurating the Committee, the Minister for the Interior, Mr. Ambrose Dery (MP), disclosed that, the formation of the Committee had been necessitated by the recent series of earth tremors reported within the environs of Accra, with the last incidence happening on 2nd March, 2019.

He explained that, such occurrences were quite worrying because they could be warning signals to a major earthquake event.

 “Over the past year, Ghana, particularly the environs of Accra has been hit by a series of earth tremors of magnitudes ranging between 2.6 and 3.9 (on the Richter scale) with the last occurrence on 2nd March 2019.

These occurrences are quite worrying because experts say that such tremors may be a warming signal to a major earthquake event.” The Minister said. 

The Minister further disclosed that, it was to this end and in consonance with President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo – Addo’s commitment to the safety and security of all citizens that he directed the establishment of this committee.

“His Excellency the President of Ghana, Nana Addo Danquah Akufo-Ado in consonance, with his commitment to make each person in Ghana feel safe and secure is justifiably concerned about the state of affairs.  Accordingly, Mr. President has directed that a committee, this committee, be constituted to address the situation” he said.

He, and on behalf of the President of the Republic of Ghana congratulated the members on their nomination unto the committee and charged them to discharge their work with all diligence and professionalism.

The Minister expressed confidence in the composition of the Committee and accordingly pledged the full support of government to the Committee to enable it discharge on its responsibilities.

Speaking on behalf of the Committee, Mrs. Charlien Bou-Chelid, of the Ghana Institute of Engineers and Chairperson for the Committee expressed appreciation to His Excellency President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo  for the appointing them unto the committee and pledged the committee’s readiness to work to achieve the set objectives. 

The Committee is expected to submit its report by 15th April, 2019.

Other Members of the Committee are Hon. Eric Nana Agyemang-Prempeh (Director-General, National Disaster Management Organisation), Mr. Joseph Ankrah (Chief Disaster Control Officer, National Disaster Management Organisation), Mr. Nicholas Opoku (Seismologist, Ghana Geological Survey Authority), ACP George Tweneboah (Ghana Police) and Mr. Julius Kuunuor (Ghana National Fire Service).

The rest are Mr. Benedict Arhjurst (Land Use and Spatial Planning Authority),  Dr. Lawrence Ofori-Boadu (Ghana Health Service), Prof. Ahmed Nuhu Zakariah (CEO Ghana Ambulance Service)  and Col. M. Mustapha (Ghana Armed Forces)  Member/Secretary.

The last destructive earthquake that affected Ghana was on 22nd June 1939 at about 7 ’clock in the evening.  In 1862 a quake shook Accra, Christiansburg Castle and all other forts in Accra were rendered uninhabitable.

Accra│12th March, 2019